seethingblue's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

waterfalls

a body of parks linked by narrow sidewalks, cracked and uprooted by trees .

we sat with our backs to the wind,

i held my sandwich carefully, cupped gracefully between my hands. sounds of michael jackson filtered out of the din of strollers pushing ahead, of varicose-veined women dragging themselves along with the crowd, an avalanche of water dissipating into a cold mist at the bottom of the river, out into a lake, to the ocean and beyond . . .

a slender woman with delicate, dark sideburns curled and lining her face spread her eyes wide, the lashes darkened by layers of mascara colored in soft noir, she cradled the microphone, clutched and rocked it. and drew each lyric, each word, each sound out as if carefully dethreading the ruined seam on a blouse.

i wiggled my toes in my tennis shoes. felt the numb pain of feet that had been walking for two hours, tired but happy. the tinge go up my legs, rubbery, asleep. my raincoat had come unfastened and i let the light sprinkle of canadian showers dust my hair, the skin of my forehead, the tip of my nose.

a college from paris lined the mulberry trees.

how i longed to run from myself. my surroundings. to hide behind the trench coat of a psych student with feathery blonde hair. to become a part of this -

but my feet would not move. externally. internally.

14:53 - 29 August, 2002

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

edithelaine
glashaus
hapapowerr
newviolet
warmblankets
aware
jetlagdream
palebycmprsn
miss-megan
fuschia
crackedlips
ydandelions
femmeproject
s-g
sood
urine
orangina21
guitkoko
emotionalist
bendme
throwingjuly
anonperson
whatlight
lightfallsup
moonrattles
dgr
sythy
soillsich
defect
immolation
wednes-danny
hair-spray
pixie-never
a-i-p
sunkenships
pinkmusique
sokagitano
lilywithagun
starkitten01
incinerated
morestories
rhythmatic
igetit
katherinehand
puellarina
woken up
luminescent