seethingblue's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

processions

I seem like a person who would love the ballet but I've tried watching the Nutcracker on tv and end up falling asleep every time. I think Macauley Culking was in a version once. I had no idea he could dance but then he probably just lifted Clara in the air now and then. I remember all this wierd shit. I think I've been stuck here for too long.

I went to my cousin's graduation Thursday and was depressed to see that things were still the same. Audience members only clapped for their own child. The football stars all did back flips near the podium and landed them perfectly. The most popular girls didn't have honor cords but still got the most cheers. The principal had a steady, artificially sunny voice and warned the audience not to shout or use noisemakers. No one really listened to her. Being in a large crowd makes one realize how tentative and fragile society's structure really is. En masse people are bound to do amazingly stupid things like beat each other down with baseball bats or light things on fire. I sat way off to the side and took pictures of my cousin with a digital camera when she went up to get her diploma. It makes me sad to think that she will go back to Korea not having a very good impression of America and Americans. We tend to love things more from a distance. Up close, things are too harsh, too disfigured, and imperfect. Catch me in France and I promise you I will be going on and on about how quaint and lovely Tallahassee is. I think countries and cities and hometowns become extensions of ourselves. Sometimes you need to separate yourself to see that you weren't all that bad to begin with.

22:46 - 29 May, 2004

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

edithelaine
glashaus
hapapowerr
newviolet
warmblankets
aware
jetlagdream
palebycmprsn
miss-megan
fuschia
crackedlips
ydandelions
femmeproject
s-g
sood
urine
orangina21
guitkoko
emotionalist
bendme
throwingjuly
anonperson
whatlight
lightfallsup
moonrattles
dgr
sythy
soillsich
defect
immolation
wednes-danny
hair-spray
pixie-never
a-i-p
sunkenships
pinkmusique
sokagitano
lilywithagun
starkitten01
incinerated
morestories
rhythmatic
igetit
katherinehand
puellarina
woken up
luminescent