seethingblue's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

another entry about race

In a National Geographic article, a writer was describing a Tahitian family made up of a half-Tahitian, half-white man and his Chinese wife. He said the children all looked like they came from different continents. Actually that writer was Peter Benchley. Those comments stung me. The way it was phrased seemed indelicate. I'm not saying everyone has to be PC and I'm sure the family wouldn't give it a second thought, so why am I so offended?

I think it frightens me to think that I don't look like any of my sisters. Or that I could have children and they wouldn't look like me or each other.

I notice there are no interracial families in the movie Jaws and probably not in the book either. Of course not. The only time I see an interracial family on TV is on a computer commercial.

11:56 - 04 July, 2004

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

edithelaine
glashaus
hapapowerr
newviolet
warmblankets
aware
jetlagdream
palebycmprsn
miss-megan
fuschia
crackedlips
ydandelions
femmeproject
s-g
sood
urine
orangina21
guitkoko
emotionalist
bendme
throwingjuly
anonperson
whatlight
lightfallsup
moonrattles
dgr
sythy
soillsich
defect
immolation
wednes-danny
hair-spray
pixie-never
a-i-p
sunkenships
pinkmusique
sokagitano
lilywithagun
starkitten01
incinerated
morestories
rhythmatic
igetit
katherinehand
puellarina
woken up
luminescent