seethingblue's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

moved from tournedisque

Transferred from the diary I'm shutting down:

October 20, 2003

Doormat

doormats are quiet and lovely,

especially in the fall.

i do not know why people are compared to doormats just because doormats get stepped on and people do too.

i have always felt a little afraid of paint ladders but the ones that swing across bookshelves or in candy shops haunt my dreams.

It Has Been So Long and It Has Felt Like Crying

it has been so long since i have heard a reference to kudzu vine or seen a river teeming with industrial waste,

it has felt like crying when you fight for your right to huddle in a door jamb and peanut butter has stopped detangling hair from gum,

it has been so long since i have seen your paper-cloth face, your perfectly roman nose, your tempered smile,

it has felt like crying because i read hamlet and cannot feel a thing and sometimes it is too quiet in the night to fall asleep

May 23, 2004

It's the End of the World

I've just found out that defenestrate means to throw someone out of a window. Gee, that will come in real handy.

I saw the Day After Tomorrow today. I laughed through all the wrong parts and then felt guilty about it. For instance, there was a frozen man in a snow bank and my sister hissed in my ear, "there's the president" (note: this is because the supposed fictional president in the movie just suddenly dies on the evacuation route to Mexico and the audience finds this out through a very blase note to the Vice President. I'm not laughing at the death of our supposed real president) and then I thought I would lose it. I thought it was really strange that Dennis Quaid would go out in snowshoes and walk from Washington D.C. to Manhatten with only a Gortex lined parka and snow goggles and would survive. I can't even survive a walk from my house to the local Winn-Dixie in 60 degree weather. Plus, no one was really panicking. The weirdest scene was after Jake Gyllenhaal had saved his future love from a wall of water by dragging her to the public library and it's large double doors that are apparently air-tight. Everyone in the library was chatty and walking around but no one looked truly frightened or concerned for friends and family.

I can't believe I went on and on about that. I think that any disaster film that tries to document such a large area and group of people is going to be unsuccessful in capturing true emotions, fears, etc. I think the filmmakers know this too. That's why they always focus on a white, upper-middle crust family who will all live in the end and give us the sense that love does prevail. Sure.

17:17 - 08 July, 2004

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

edithelaine
glashaus
hapapowerr
newviolet
warmblankets
aware
jetlagdream
palebycmprsn
miss-megan
fuschia
crackedlips
ydandelions
femmeproject
s-g
sood
urine
orangina21
guitkoko
emotionalist
bendme
throwingjuly
anonperson
whatlight
lightfallsup
moonrattles
dgr
sythy
soillsich
defect
immolation
wednes-danny
hair-spray
pixie-never
a-i-p
sunkenships
pinkmusique
sokagitano
lilywithagun
starkitten01
incinerated
morestories
rhythmatic
igetit
katherinehand
puellarina
woken up
luminescent