seethingblue's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

halloween

We're playing Trivial Pursuit after the hurricane. Everything closes before nine, traffic lights completely blown away, long lines at gas stations. We are in teams and I am peering over at my best friend who remembers the most random facts, can piece together the fragments of an image until it is frosted thick like stained glass, better than the truth. I want to return my common sense for just an ounce of whimsy, but I push the dog away as he tries to hump my forearm. Now it is Halloween and she does a tap dance in silver shoes. She is a lady bug with soft mesh wings strapped to her shoulders with elastic. She has pinned a small red ruffle around her waist. I sit slumped over on the couch, my pointy black hat keeps sliding down, shielding my view. There are chocolate frosted cupcakes dotted with sugar white ghosts, blinking skeleton lights, a pumpkin backlit in mid-cackle. I am thinking about paychecks, application fees, how men just fall into relationships with other women who are not me, who do not worry about small details, do not stand up and cheer at victory over a question in Trivial Pursuit, do not wear a crumpled black skirt over jeans, smears of purple eyeshadow and cleopatra eyeliner. I take off the hat and know I look stupid. But my best friend snaps a few pictures of my downcast eyes. We huddle together and giggle over the shaky digital results.

21:19 - 31 October, 2005

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

edithelaine
glashaus
hapapowerr
newviolet
warmblankets
aware
jetlagdream
palebycmprsn
miss-megan
fuschia
crackedlips
ydandelions
femmeproject
s-g
sood
urine
orangina21
guitkoko
emotionalist
bendme
throwingjuly
anonperson
whatlight
lightfallsup
moonrattles
dgr
sythy
soillsich
defect
immolation
wednes-danny
hair-spray
pixie-never
a-i-p
sunkenships
pinkmusique
sokagitano
lilywithagun
starkitten01
incinerated
morestories
rhythmatic
igetit
katherinehand
puellarina
woken up
luminescent