seethingblue's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

funeral

My grandfather died before the election.
At his funeral, my shoes were too tight. I cried at the visitation, but when the preachers were initiating prayer during the service, I felt nothing. They were talking about a person they didn't know. It seemed rote, unoriginal. Visiting with my grandmother the next day broke my heart. The house was so quiet. She said, "I'll just miss all the funny things he used to do," her voice cracking on the last word. I had a dream where my grandfather was sitting in the backseat of my car. He was wearing his signature khaki colored coat.

16:00 - 03 November, 2008

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

edithelaine
glashaus
hapapowerr
newviolet
warmblankets
aware
jetlagdream
palebycmprsn
miss-megan
fuschia
crackedlips
ydandelions
femmeproject
s-g
sood
urine
orangina21
guitkoko
emotionalist
bendme
throwingjuly
anonperson
whatlight
lightfallsup
moonrattles
dgr
sythy
soillsich
defect
immolation
wednes-danny
hair-spray
pixie-never
a-i-p
sunkenships
pinkmusique
sokagitano
lilywithagun
starkitten01
incinerated
morestories
rhythmatic
igetit
katherinehand
puellarina
woken up
luminescent