seethingblue's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

(tiny) failures

This is an entry about dealing with rejection. I'm referring to professional rejection rather than personal rejection, but who knows which is really worse.

The world, or my slight corner of it, is in a slump right now. Even the weather is slightly peevish, veering from blustery cold mornings to hot hot afternoons. I hate that my car's engine rattles and the steering wheel clicks. And I hate it when I buy cute shoes online and they just don't look right, no matter how hard I try.

Sigh.

But being told that something I've done just isn't good enough, for now, takes the cake. I'm currently working on a prospectus for my dissertation. It's hard though preliminary. Or maybe it's hard because it's preliminary. I have to imagine and invent an entire project. And I don't know what the hell I'm doing.

I feel like my work now has less import on the world. My imaginings as a teen of future accomplishments were so much better. I maybe thought I would be married by 27. And I'm super okay with that not panning out.

But I also thought I'd be something really great.

And maybe I'm not.

So I'll listen to Nancy Sinatra's Sugar Town to get out of my slump.

And do yoga. And eat more vegetables.

And watch silly rom-coms. And embrace mediocrity?

05:18 - 16 March, 2010

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

edithelaine
glashaus
hapapowerr
newviolet
warmblankets
aware
jetlagdream
palebycmprsn
miss-megan
fuschia
crackedlips
ydandelions
femmeproject
s-g
sood
urine
orangina21
guitkoko
emotionalist
bendme
throwingjuly
anonperson
whatlight
lightfallsup
moonrattles
dgr
sythy
soillsich
defect
immolation
wednes-danny
hair-spray
pixie-never
a-i-p
sunkenships
pinkmusique
sokagitano
lilywithagun
starkitten01
incinerated
morestories
rhythmatic
igetit
katherinehand
puellarina
woken up
luminescent