seethingblue's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

small vignette for kansas

my father told me i was kansas--

a melting cold with large fields,

gray skies but many zoos

with flamingos that look out of place

and homesick

and fear the coming of tornadoes sweeping through.

he told me this as i fell asleep in the car. i was the only child he spanked and the first time, he hit me so hard i peed in my pants and went to school, my face swollen and red from crying streaking tears and everyone pretended not to stare.

i remember when he left for alaska and we stayed with my mother's sister and my older, meaner cousins and i picked my nose on the playground and then cried beneath the slide where no one could see me.

i cannot remember kansas very well but there are pictures of me in a frilly blue dress. my father is holding me up to a giraffe in the witchita city zoo and though the picture does not capture it, i see myself pitching a fit and wriggling down to escape his hold.

23:32 - 06 March, 2004

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

edithelaine
glashaus
hapapowerr
newviolet
warmblankets
aware
jetlagdream
palebycmprsn
miss-megan
fuschia
crackedlips
ydandelions
femmeproject
s-g
sood
urine
orangina21
guitkoko
emotionalist
bendme
throwingjuly
anonperson
whatlight
lightfallsup
moonrattles
dgr
sythy
soillsich
defect
immolation
wednes-danny
hair-spray
pixie-never
a-i-p
sunkenships
pinkmusique
sokagitano
lilywithagun
starkitten01
incinerated
morestories
rhythmatic
igetit
katherinehand
puellarina
woken up
luminescent